is a senior officer of the Department of Fisheries, and five members chosen from private and cooperative firms in the industry. The Board has authority to buy fishery products and to sell or otherwise dispose of them or to pay producers the difference between a price prescribed by the Board and the average price the product actually commands.

Halifax Relief Commission.—The Commission, a joint enterprise of the Legislature of Nova Scotia (Statutes of N.S., 1918, c. 61) and the Parliament of Canada (Statutes of Canada, 1918, c. 24), was incorporated to administer relief funds contributed for the assistance of sufferers in consequence of the disastrous explosion at Halifax, Dec. 17, 1917. (See footnote, p. 85.)

Industrial Development Bank.—The Bank, a subsidiary of the Bank of Canada, was incorporated in 1944 to provide loans to industrial enterprises where financing is not available through recognized lending organizations. (See footnote, p. 85.)

National Battlefields Commission.—This Commission was established by Act of Parliament in 1908 to preserve the historic battlefields at Quebec City. The Commission is composed of nine members, seven being appointed by the Federal Government and one each by the Provinces of Ontario and Quebec. The Commission is supported by an annual statutory grant from the Federal Government and is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources.

National Gallery.—The National Gallery was founded in 1880. By Act of Parliament in 1913 and re-enacted in 1951 it was placed under the management of a Board of Trustees appointed by the Governor General in Council and now operates under the National Gallery Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 186). It is responsible to Parliament through a Minister of the Crown (at present the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration).

The first charge of the National Gallery is the development and care of the national art collections. Other important services are the arrangement of loans and exhibitions from abroad and from its own holdings for showing in Canada and abroad, the promotion of good industrial design and general extension work consisting of the distribution of reproductions for educational purposes, lectures, educational tours, publications, school broadcasts and art films.

National Harbours Board.—The Board was established by Act of Parliament in 1936. It is responsible for the administration of port facilities at Halifax, Saint John, Chicoutimi, Quebec, Three Rivers, Montreal, Vancouver, and Churchill. The Board is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

National Research Council—In 1917 the Research Council Act was passed and in 1928 laboratories for scientific research were established at Ottawa. The National Research Council now has Divisions of Pure and Applied Chemistry, Building Research, Mechanical Engineering, Radio and Electrical Engineering, Pure and Applied Physics, Applied Biology and Medical Research. Regional laboratories have been established at Saskatoon, Sask., and Halifax, N.S.

Patentable processes and improvements developed by the Council are made available under licence to industry through a Crown company, Canadian Patents and Development Limited, and any profits from the licensing arrangements are used for further research and development.

The Minister of Trade and Commerce as Chairman of the Privy Council Committee on Scientific and Industrial Research is responsible to Parliament for the National Research Council.

Northern Transportation Company Limited.—This Company was incorporated in 1947 under the title of Northern Transportation Company (1947) Limited, the date being omitted from the name in 1952. Previously a company chartered under an Alberta statute, it has been a wholly owned subsidiary of Eldorado Mining and Refining Limited since that Crown company was established and carries out the business of a common carrier in the Mackenzie River watershed. The Company is responsible to Parliament through the Chairman of the Committee of the Privy Council on Scientific and Industrial Research.

Northern Canada Power Commission.—The Commission was established by Act of Parliament in 1948 to bring electric power to points in the Northwest Territories where a need developed and where power could be provided on a self-sustaining basis. The Act was amended in 1950 to give authority to the Commission to provide similar services in Yukon Territory; the name of the Commission, formerly Northwest Territories Power Commission, was changed in 1956. The Commission is composed of a Chairman and two members appointed by the Governor in Council. It operates hydro-electric plants on the Snare River in the Northwest Territories and on the Mayo River in Yukon Territory and diesel-electric plants at Fort Smith and Fort Simpson, N.W.T. Additional plants are under construction at Whitehorse, Yukon, and Aklavik, N.W.T. The Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources reports to Parliament for the Commission.

Park Steamship Company Limited.—After World War II this Company acted as an agent for Crown Assets Disposal Corporation in the sale and delivery to purchasers of Government war built ships. This work is completed but the Company remains available to carry out any appropriate duties. It has no staff of its own, any necessary work being done by the staff of the Canadian Maritime Commission (see p. 85). The Company reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.